You are here

Call for Applications: 2017 Cengage Learning Award for Innovative Excellence in the Teaching of Chinese as a Foreign Language

Call for Applications

 Cengage Learning Award for Innovative Excellence in the Teaching of Chinese as a Foreign Language

(Deadline: November 31, 2017)

 CLTA is pleased to announce the opening of the competition for the Cengage Learning Award for Innovative Excellence in the Teaching of Chinese as a Foreign Language.  Established with the generous support of Cengage Learning, a multinational leading provider of educational solutions, this award is designed to encourage CLTA members to contribute to the improvement of Chinese Foreign Language (CFL) education in the United States through the design, development, and application of new pedagogy, innovative classroom practices, and teaching tools (e.g. multi-media).

 Award and Eligibility

Depending on the competition each year, the award money may be divided into two First Prizes ($1000 each) or one First Prize ($800) and one to two Second Prizes ($600 each). With the exception of the current members of the CLTA Awards Committee, all K-16 teaching professionals with active CLTA member status are eligible to apply.


Any unpublished innovative projects with the goal of improving CFL education are welcome for submission.  While commercial products and most materials already accepted for publication are excluded from competition, a recently published article (within twelve months of submission deadline) on innovative pedagogy would be eligible for consideration. To qualify for the competition, a project should have been completed upon submission and be relatively comprehensive in scope.  Projects covering an entire course or course unit will be considered, whereas projects covering only one class period (unless one class period constitutes a unit) will not.

Selection Criteria

Criteria for award selection primarily consist of the following:

1.  Rationale of Project.  What is the need for the project and in what way would the current project make teaching more effective?

2.  Innovation of design. How does the project differ from current practices in the field?

3.  Outcome of Project.  What is the evidence as to the effectiveness of the project (for example, expert endorsement, positive student reactions, or pre-and post-test performance gain)?


The application deadline for the 2017 Cengage Learning Award is November 31, 2017 and notification of winners will be sent by email on February 15, 2018. To apply, please prepare and submit the following information:

1.  A narrative description of the project, double-spaced and no more than five pages, including its rationale, design, outcome, and future development, if any.

2.  Relevant supporting documents, such as handouts, DVDs, or texts. (Supporting documents will not be returned to the applicants after the competition, unless a self-addressed and pre-stamped envelope has been provided.)

All application materials (electronic version is preferred) should be sent to:

Professor Zhijun Wang
Asian Languages and Literatures
Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
University of Massachusetts Amherst
161 Presidents Drive
Amherst, MA 01003

Winners will be notified by email in September and will receive the Awards at the CLTA Annual Meeting. The winning projects will also be announced in the January issue of the CLTA Newsletter, as well as featured on both the websites of CLTA and Cengage Learning,


Zhijun Wang
Co-Chair of the CLTA Awards Committee